Mixed Fortunes this year

City of Sails 2016The Microbe Cars sponsored City of Sails was full of thrills, a couple of spills and superb racing.

Ashton Grant had a clean sweep in Rotax Junior; although it wasn’t always easy. He was chased all day by Taylor Hurst & Josh Parkinson and it was nail biting stuff.

The Kerikeri dark horse, Steve Carter, pulled off Clubsport 120. Carter didn’t win a race all weekend but with his worst finish being only fourth it was his consistency that paid dividends. Dean Oliver won all the races on track but a tech exclusion in the third heat meant he could only manage second overall. Cliff Walsh was in third, pipping Brendon White by just one point.

The Vortex Mini Rok class delivered everything expected; the thrills, the spills and superb racing. Ryan Crombie was a clear winner, 10 points ahead of Blake Austin. Points were tight for the minor placings; one point separating Josh Richmond, Dylan Grant, Breanna Morris & Clay Osborne. The drive of the weekend came from Breanna Morris; having had a dismal qualifying which put her starting the heats off grid 19 she worked her way forward race by race to eventually win the final by a substantial margin and giving the competition a lesson on wet weather driving.

Mason Potter successfully defended his 2015 City of Sails Cadet Rok title with five wins from five starts – and a new track record.

In KZ2 Simeon Woolsey was clearly fastest all weekend; although Andrew Hunt wasn’t far behind. A racing infringement in the final saw Woolsey loose the on track win and hand the overall to Hunt, with Rollo Davies in third.

Rotax DD2 saw another clean sweep; CJ Sinclair a clear winner of all races. It went right down to the final to decide overall second & third placings; Sam Waddell holding off Liam Croudis.

Rotax Light was a class full of mixed fortunes. After qualifying pole Keith Wilkinson had two disastrous heats and while improving in the pre-final & winning the final it was not enough. Kaleb Currie had had a solid weekend and was on target to take overall honours when his rear bumper parted company a few laps from home in the final. This handed the overall win to Jordan Baldwin with Suvarn Naidoo in third, both of whom had also had fairly solid results.

Results –

Cadet Rok

  1. Mason Potter 5pts; 2. Hayden Bakkerus 15pts; 3. Luke Thompson 19pts; 4. Kaden Probst 19pts; 5. Liam Sceats 23pts; 6. Ayrton Williams 25pts


Vortex Mini Rok

  1. Ryan Crombie 10pts; 2. Blake Austin 24pts; 3. Josh Richmond 25pts; 4. Dylan Grant 26pts; 5. Breanna Morris 27pts; 6. Clay Osborne 28pts


Rotax Max Junior

  1. Ashton Grant 5pts; 2= Taylor Hurst & Josh Parkinson 15pts; 4. Nate Coyne 22pts; 5. Callum Hedge 27pts; 6. Brock Gilchrist 34pts



Clubsport 120

  1. Steve Carter 13pts; 2. Dean Oliver 18pts; 3. Cliff Walsh 20pts; 4. Brendon White 21pts;
  2. Richard Macey 24pts; 6. Lee Sefton 26pts


Rotax Max Light

  1. Jordan Baldwin 21pts; 2. Kaleb Currie 25pts; 3. Suvarn Naidoo 25pts; 4. Taylor Harte 27pts;
  2. Jason Butterworth 27pts; 6. Kyle Krissansen 28pts


Rotax DD2

  1. CJ Sinclair 5pts; 2. Sam Waddell 13pts; 3. Liam Croudis 14pts; 4. Callum Gibbs 20pts;
  2. Peter Wrightson 29pts; 6. Cameron Dennis 37pts



  1. Andrew Hunt 12pts; 2. Simeon Woolsey 17pts; 3. Rollo Davies 21pts; 4. Connor Westbury 23pts; 5. Garry Claxton 23pts; 6. Glenn Ellis 28pts